Australian Rally History

by Tom Snooks
Close this search box.

1968 Southern Cross Rally

9 – 13 OCTOBER 1968

John Keran/Peter Meyer and the 1968 Southern Cross International Rally winning Volvo 142S


John Keran/Peter Meyer, in the Volvo 142S, set an unbeatable pace as the rally once again traversed the route from Sydney to Melbourne and return. Paddy Hopkirk was back for his third try in as many years but a wet clutch after a river crossing near Canberra on the first night ended his challenge.

New features for the event included special stages on circuits at Amaroo Park and Hume Weir (Albury) and loops in the wild country around Tumbarumba and Tumut in the Southern Alps.

This year’s Southern Cross International Rally heralded a new concept in Australian rallying by introducing the ‘special stage’ system. Short, sharp interesting and demanding stages, or sections, linked by easy relaxing transport sections. This set the standard for all future such events.

The event started in Sydney on the Wednesday and breaks were taken during the day at Canberra (Thursday), Melbourne (Friday) and Albury (Saturday).

Final Placings

1John KeranPeter MeyerVolvo 142 S48 pts
2Frank KilfoyleDoug RutherfordFord Cortina GT82
3Colin BondBrian HopeMitsubishi Colt85
4Tony RobertsMike OsborneHolden HK89
5Bruce HodgsonBob ForsythFord Cortina GT93
6Bob WatsonJim McAuliffeHolden HK108
7Greg GarardRoy DennyHolden Monaro117
8John GarardBarry WaldronHolden Monaro126
9Doug StewartBrian FieldMitsubishi Colt128
10Peter HoughtonMick NeilsenPeugeot 404143

Read full details of the 1968 Southern Cross Rally in the document below.

1968 Southern Cross Rally​